John Griggs Thompson

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1959 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Proof that a Finite Group with a Fixed-Point-Free Automorphism of Prime Order is Nilpotent

Advisor: Saunders Mac Lane

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

David BensonUniversity of Cambridge198115
Aron BereczkyUniversity of Florida1998
Aviad BroshiThe University of Chicago1969
Sister Miriam CooneyThe University of Chicago1969
Larry DornhoffThe University of Chicago19661
David ErbachUniversity of Cambridge1976
Pamela FergusonThe University of Chicago19691
Richard FooteUniversity of Cambridge19763
David GoldschmidtThe University of Chicago196914
Robert Griess, Jr.The University of Chicago19717
Chat-Yin HoThe University of Chicago19726
David JacksonUniversity of Cambridge1982
Gordon JamesUniversity of Cambridge197210
Richard LyonsThe University of Chicago197015
Anne MacWilliamsThe University of Chicago1969
David McNeillyUniversity of Cambridge1996
Nicholas PattersonUniversity of Cambridge1973
Urmie RayUniversity of Cambridge1990
Milbern RustThe University of Chicago1966
Robert SandlingThe University of Chicago19696
Tanush ShaskaUniversity of Florida20013
David ShawUniversity of Cambridge
Charles SimsHarvard University196310
Edward SpitznagelThe University of Chicago19652
Albert WhitcombThe University of Chicago1968

According to our current on-line database, John Thompson has 25 students and 118 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6488 for the advisor ID.