Saunders Mac Lane

Biography MathSciNet

D.Phil. Georg-August-Universität Göttingen 1934 Germany
Dissertation: Abgekürzte Beweise im Logikkalkul (Abbreviated Proofs in the Logical Calculus)

Advisor 1: Hermann Claus Hugo Weyl
Advisor 2: I. Paul (Isaak) Bernays

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Akutowicz, EdwinHarvard University1948
Awodey, StevenThe University of Chicago199716
Ballard, WilliamThe University of Chicago1957
Carter, WilliamHarvard University1947
Decker, GeraldThe University of Chicago1974
Dole, HarryThe University of Chicago1981
Dubuc, EduardoThe University of Chicago19693
Edwards, KathleenThe University of Chicago1980
Eisenbud, DavidThe University of Chicago1970187
Ginali, SusannaThe University of Chicago1976
Halpern, EdwardThe University of Chicago19572
Hamsher, RossThe University of Chicago1973
Howard, WilliamThe University of Chicago195610
Hughart, StanleyCalifornia Institute of Technology1954
Hungerford, ThomasThe University of Chicago1963
Jakobsen, DanielThe University of Chicago1995
Kaplansky, IrvingHarvard University19411019
Kristensen, LeifThe University of Chicago19613
Kruse, ArthurThe University of Chicago195613
Kuo, Tzee-CharThe University of Chicago19641
Liulevicius, ArunasThe University of Chicago196065
Lyndon, RogerHarvard University194745
MacDonald, JohnThe University of Chicago19651
Morley, MichaelThe University of Chicago19623
Mountjoy, RobertThe University of Chicago1964
Moyls, BenjaminHarvard University194819
Nerode, AnilThe University of Chicago1956288
Norris, MichaelHarvard University1944
Novosad, RobertThe University of Chicago1952
Nunke, RonaldThe University of Chicago19555
Palmquist, PaulThe University of Chicago1969
Phelps, ClementHarvard University1942
Putnam, AlfredHarvard University1942
Schafer, JamesThe University of Chicago19655
Shafer, DavidThe University of Chicago1966
Solovay, RobertThe University of Chicago1964197
Stauffer, HowardUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
Szczarba, RobertThe University of Chicago196010
Thompson, JohnThe University of Chicago1959142
Voreadou, RodianiThe University of Chicago1972
Yao, JosephThe University of Chicago1960
Zvengrowski, PeterThe University of Chicago196517

According to our current on-line database, Saunders Mac Lane has 42 students and 2061 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 834 for the advisor ID.