Louis Nirenberg

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1949 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Determination of a Closed Convex Surface Having Given Line Elements
Mathematics Subject Classification: 52—Convex and discrete geometry

Advisor: James Johnston Stoker

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Littman, WalterNew York University195624
Liban, EricNew York University1957
Newlander, AugustNew York University1957
Peyser, GideonNew York University1957
Schechter, MartinNew York University195714
Kann, EdgarNew York University1960
de Figueiredo, DjairoNew York University1961106
Kahane, CharlesNew York University19631
Bein, DonaldNew York University1964
Beckman, FrankColumbia University1965
Ramalho, RobertoNew York University1968
Zuckerman, PaulNew York University1968
Burke, KennethNew York University1969
Koutroufiotis, DimitriNew York University1969
Goldstein, RonaldNew York University19701
Gopalkrishna, VenuNew York University1970
Kerzman, NorbertoNew York University197058
Ching, Chin-HungNew York University1971
Strauss, MontyNew York University1971
Gilkey, PeterHarvard University19728
Hoitsma, DavidNew York University1973
Ize, JorgeNew York University19741
Zeman, MarvinNew York University1974
Kalka, MorrisNew York University19752
Karp, LeonNew York University19761
Tavantzis, JohnNew York University1976
Klainerman, SergiuNew York University197876
Ni, Wei-MingNew York University197995
Sylvester, JohnNew York University19802
Craig, WalterNew York University198117
Korman, PhilipNew York University19811
Chou (Tso), Kai Seng (Kaising)New York University19838
Lin, Chang-shouNew York University1983
David, FlorinNew York University1984
Michalek, RaymondNew York University1986
Tarantello, GabriellaNew York University1986
Vinacua, AlvaroNew York University1986
Zhou, ZhengfangNew York University198615
Li, YanyanNew York University198839
Han, Zheng-chaoNew York University1989
Li, CongmingNew York University19896
Birindelli, IsabeauNew York University19921
Padilla-Longoria, PabloNew York University19932
Cabré, XavierNew York University199414
Tehrani, HosseinNew York University19945
Perera, KanishkaNew York University19971

According to our current on-line database, Louis Nirenberg has 46 students and 542 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13410 for the advisor ID.