Louis Nirenberg

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1949 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Determination of a Closed Convex Surface Having Given Line Elements
Mathematics Subject Classification: 52—Convex and discrete geometry

Advisor: James Johnston Stoker

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Frank BeckmanColumbia University1965
Donald BeinNew York University1964
Isabeau BirindelliNew York University19921
Kenneth BurkeNew York University1969
Xavier CabréNew York University19947
Chin-Hung ChingNew York University1971
Kai Seng (Kaising) Chou (Tso)New York University19838
Walter CraigNew York University198113
Florin DavidNew York University1984
Djairo de FigueiredoNew York University196152
Peter GilkeyHarvard University19728
Ronald GoldsteinNew York University19701
Venu GopalkrishnaNew York University1970
Zheng-chao HanNew York University1989
David HoitsmaNew York University1973
Jorge IzeNew York University19741
Charles KahaneNew York University19631
Morris KalkaNew York University19752
Edgar KannNew York University1960
Leon KarpNew York University1976
Norberto KerzmanNew York University197038
Sergiu KlainermanNew York University197849
Philip KormanNew York University19811
Dimitri KoutroufiotisNew York University1969
Congming LiNew York University19896
Yanyan LiNew York University198818
Eric LibanNew York University1957
Chang-shou LinNew York University1983
Walter LittmanNew York University195621
Raymond MichalekNew York University1986
August NewlanderNew York University1957
Wei-Ming NiNew York University197959
Pablo Padilla-LongariaNew York University1993
Kanishka PereraNew York University1997
Gideon PeyserNew York University1957
Roberto RamalhoNew York University1968
Martin SchechterNew York University195714
Monty StraussNew York University1971
John SylvesterNew York University19802
Gabriella TarantelloNew York University1986
John TavantzisNew York University1976
Hossein TehraniNew York University19942
Alvaro VinacuaNew York University1986
Marvin ZemanNew York University1974
Zhengfang ZhouNew York University198613
Paul ZuckermanNew York University1968

According to our current on-line database, Louis Nirenberg has 46 students and 362 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13410 for the advisor ID.