Saunders Mac Lane

Biography MathSciNet

D.Phil. Georg-August-Universität Göttingen 1934 Germany
Dissertation: Abgekürzte Beweise im Logikkalkul (Abbreviated Proofs in the Logical Calculus)

Advisor 1: Hermann Claus Hugo Weyl
Advisor 2: I. Paul (Isaak) Bernays

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Kaplansky, IrvingHarvard University1941966
Phelps, ClementHarvard University1942
Putnam, AlfredHarvard University1942
Norris, MichaelHarvard University1944
Carter, WilliamHarvard University1947
Lyndon, RogerHarvard University194744
Akutowicz, EdwinHarvard University1948
Moyls, BenjaminHarvard University194816
Novosad, RobertThe University of Chicago1952
Hughart, StanleyCalifornia Institute of Technology1954
Nunke, RonaldThe University of Chicago19555
Howard, WilliamThe University of Chicago195610
Kruse, ArthurThe University of Chicago195613
Nerode, AnilThe University of Chicago1956271
Ballard, WilliamThe University of Chicago1957
Halpern, EdwardThe University of Chicago19572
Thompson, JohnThe University of Chicago1959133
Liulevicius, ArunasThe University of Chicago196041
Szczarba, RobertThe University of Chicago196010
Yao, JosephThe University of Chicago1960
Kristensen, LeifThe University of Chicago19613
Morley, MichaelThe University of Chicago19623
Hungerford, ThomasThe University of Chicago1963
Kuo, Tzee-CharThe University of Chicago19641
Mountjoy, RobertThe University of Chicago1964
Solovay, RobertThe University of Chicago1964179
MacDonald, JohnThe University of Chicago19651
Schafer, JamesThe University of Chicago19655
Zvengrowski, PeterThe University of Chicago196516
Shafer, DavidThe University of Chicago1966
Dubuc, EduardoThe University of Chicago19691
Palmquist, PaulThe University of Chicago1969
Stauffer, HowardUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
Eisenbud, DavidThe University of Chicago1970161
Voreadou, RodianiThe University of Chicago1972
Hamsher, RossThe University of Chicago1973
Decker, GeraldThe University of Chicago1974
Ginali, SusannaThe University of Chicago1976
Edwards, KathleenThe University of Chicago1980
Dole, HarryThe University of Chicago1981
Jakobsen, DanielThe University of Chicago1995
Awodey, StevenThe University of Chicago199715

According to our current on-line database, Saunders Mac Lane has 42 students and 1912 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 834 for the advisor ID.