Irving Ezra Segal


Ph.D. Yale University 1940 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Ring Properties of Certain Classes of Functions

Advisor: C. Einar (Carl) Hille

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Brian AbrahamsonThe University of Chicago19577
John BaezMassachusetts Institute of Technology198613
Stephen BermanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Robert BlattnerThe University of Chicago19579
Thomas BransonMassachusetts Institute of Technology19794
A. Robert BrodskyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1965
John ChadamMassachusetts Institute of Technology19655
Jan ChaikenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Joseph CookThe University of Chicago1951
Lester DubinsThe University of Chicago195543
Henry Dye, Jr.The University of Chicago195089
Jacob FeldmanThe University of Chicago195459
Roe GoodmanMassachusetts Institute of Technology196318
Ernest Griffin, Jr.The University of Chicago19521
Leonard GrossThe University of Chicago1958175
M. Matthew HackmanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1963
Hans JakobsenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
Robert KallmanMassachusetts Institute of Technology196812
Abel KleinMassachusetts Institute of Technology19715
Mark KonMassachusetts Institute of Technology19805
Bertram KostantThe University of Chicago1954169
Ray KunzeThe University of Chicago195769
Richard LavineMassachusetts Institute of Technology196515
Edmund LeeMassachusetts Institute of Technology1975
Michael LennonMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Arthur LiebermanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Ernest MichaelThe University of Chicago195122
J. Edward NelsonThe University of Chicago1955162
Derrick NiedermanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Bent ├śrstedMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
Stephen PaneitzMassachusetts Institute of Technology1980
Jan PedersenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Niels PoulsenMassachusetts Institute of Technology197028
Steven RobbinsMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Tomas SchonbekMassachusetts Institute of Technology19702
David ShaleThe University of Chicago1960
Isadore SingerThe University of Chicago1950165
W. Forrest StinespringThe University of Chicago19572
Walter StraussMassachusetts Institute of Technology196285
Michael WeinlessMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968

According to our current on-line database, Irving Segal has 40 students and 1204 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6386 for the advisor ID.