Richard Alfred Tapia

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles 1967 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Generalization of Newton's Method with an Application to the Euler-Lagrange Equation

Advisor 1: Magnus Rudolph Hestenes
Advisor 2: Charles Brown Tompkins

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Gilbert de MontricherRice University1973
Mary McCarthyRice University1973
Victor GuerraRice University1974
Richard ByrdRice University19763
David ScottRice University197620
George AndersonRice University1978
Kathie HiebertRice University1978
Jorge NocedalRice University19785
Naresh GargRice University1979
Rodrigo FontecillaRice University1983
Maria Celis AvalosRice University1985
Edward DeanRice University1985
Theresa ParksRice University1985
Richard CarterRice University1986
Mohammedi El HallabiRice University1987
Mahmoud El-AlemRice University19881
Hector MartinezRice University1988
Jershan ChiangRice University1989
Amr El-BakryRice University1991
Shou Bai LiRice University1991
Marcos RaydanRice University199113
Catherine SamuelsenRice University1992
Debora Cores-CarreraRice University1994
Mark GockenbachRice University19945
Maria Gonzalez-LimaRice University1995
Anthony KearsleyRice University1996
Miguel ArgaezRice University19973
Zeferino Parada GarciaRice University1997
Monica MartinezRice University1998
Pamela WilliamsRice University1998
Leticia Velazquez MartinezRice University2000
Maria VillalobosRice University2000
Diane JamrogRice University2002
Timothy RedlRice University2004
Joanna PapakonstantinouRice University2009

According to our current on-line database, Richard Tapia has 35 students and 85 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 14920 for the advisor ID.