Richard Courant

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Georg-August-Universität Göttingen 1910 Germany
Dissertation: Über die Anwendung des Dirichletschen Prinzipes auf die Probleme der konformen Abbildung

Advisor: David Hilbert

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Claire AdlerNew York University1942
Leifur AsgeirssonGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1933
Reinhold BaerGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1927833
Paul BailynNew York University1964
Isaac BattinNew York University1949
Herbert BusemannGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen193121
Anneli (Cahn) LaxNew York University19551
Philip CoopermanNew York University1951
Norman DavidsNew York University1940
Charles De PrimaNew York University194342
Avron DouglisNew York University19493
William FellerGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen19261175
Hans FittingGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1931
Kurt FriedrichsGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1925827
Harold GradNew York University1948253
Horst HerrmannGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen19324
Fritz JohnGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen193478
Joseph KellerNew York University1948589
Werner v. KoppenfelsGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen192942
Jennie KormesNew York University1944
Edgar KrahnGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1925
Herbert KranzerNew York University195717
Martin KruskalNew York University1952165
Hans LewyGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1925320
Donald LudwigNew York University195853
Bella ManelNew York University1939
Abraham MillerNew York University1943
Hans M├╝nznerGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen193267
Otto NeugebauerGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen192619
Arthur PetersNew York University19418
Franz RellichGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen19291631
Irving RitterNew York University1937
Hanan RubinNew York University1953
Ingeborg SeynscheGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1930
Max ShiffmanNew York University1938
Alan SolomonNew York University19631
Antonie SternGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1925
Alwin WaltherTechnische Universität Dresden1922622
Margaret (Young) WoodbridgeNew York University1946
Klaus ZweilingGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen1923

According to our current on-line database, Richard Courant has 40 students and 6725 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 7378 for the advisor ID.