William Paul Thurston

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 1972 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Foliations of Three-Manifolds which are Circle Bundles
Mathematics Subject Classification: 51—Geometry

Advisor: Morris William Hirsch

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Baik, HyungryulCornell University2014
Ballinger, BradleyUniversity of California, Davis2003
Bridgeman, MartinPrinceton University19941
Calegari, DannyUniversity of California, Berkeley20008
Canary, RichardPrinceton University198912
Choi, SuhyoungPrinceton University19882
Dunbar, WilliamPrinceton University1981
Erlandsson, ThomasUppsala Universitet1981
Farb, BensonPrinceton University199440
Fenley, SérgioPrinceton University19892
Floyd, WilliamPrinceton University19784
G, Ravi (Ravinder)University of California, Berkeley1986
Gabai, DavidPrinceton University198023
Goldman, WilliamUniversity of California, Berkeley198036
Grayson, MattPrinceton University1983
Hardorp, DetlefPrinceton University1978
Hodgson, CraigPrinceton University19867
Hu, SenPrinceton University19891
Jerdonek, ChristopherUniversity of California, Davis2005
Kenyon, RichardPrinceton University19908
Kerckhoff, StevenPrinceton University197828
Kuhn, NathanielPrinceton University1984
Levy, SilvioPrinceton University1985
Ling, WensorPrinceton University1979
Liu, Chien-HaoPrinceton University1994
Meyerhoff, G.Princeton University1981
Minsky, YairPrinceton University198913
Mosher, LeePrinceton University19835
Rasmussen, OlePrinceton University1976
Rivin, IgorPrinceton University19862
Saldanha, NicolauPrinceton University19895
Schramm, OdedPrinceton University19903
Schwartz, RichardPrinceton University19913
Walsh, GenevieveUniversity of California, Davis20031
Wang, BiaoCornell University2009
Weeks, JeffreyPrinceton University1985

According to our current on-line database, William Thurston has 36 students and 239 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 11749 for the advisor ID.