Stephen Smale

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of Michigan 1957 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Regular Curves on Riemannian Manifolds

Advisor: Raoul H. Bott

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Edward BishopUniversity of California, Berkeley1991
Robert (Rufus) BowenUniversity of California, Berkeley197026
Alberto BuffoUniversity of California, Berkeley1985
William ByersUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
Hildeberto CabralUniversity of California, Berkeley19728
C├ęsar Camacho MancoUniversity of California, Berkeley197120
Robert DevaneyUniversity of California, Berkeley197318
James DowlingUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
John FranksUniversity of California, Berkeley196833
David FriedUniversity of California, Berkeley197614
Daniel FriedmanUniversity of California, Santa Cruz19771
Joel FriedmanUniversity of California, Berkeley19871
Feng GaoUniversity of California, Berkeley1988
John GuckenheimerUniversity of California, Berkeley197027
Minh Ha QuangBrown University2006
Michael HirschUniversity of California, Berkeley1990
Morris HirschThe University of Chicago1958254
Yi HuangUniversity of California, Berkeley1993
Angelyn JewellUniversity of California, Berkeley1979
Nancy KopellUniversity of California, Berkeley19678
Eric KostlanUniversity of California, Berkeley1985
Chung Ping KwongCity University of Hong Kong19992
Ernesto Lacomba-ZamoraUniversity of California, Berkeley197214
Jean-Pierre LangloisUniversity of California, Berkeley1982
Alejandro Lopez-YanezUniversity of California, Berkeley1974
Gregorio Malajovich MunozUniversity of California, Berkeley1994
Ha MinhBrown University2006
Sheldon NewhouseUniversity of California, Berkeley196919
Zbigniew NiteckiUniversity of California, Berkeley19693
Chong OngUniversity of California, Berkeley1973
Jacob Palis, Jr.University of California, Berkeley1968238
Julian Palmore, IIIUniversity of California, Berkeley197312
Michael PayneUniversity of California, Berkeley1973
Douglas PriestUniversity of California, Berkeley1992
George RassiasUniversity of California, Berkeley1977
Themistocles RassiasUniversity of California, Berkeley19761
James Renegar, Jr.University of California, Berkeley19838
Joseph Maurice RojasUniversity of California, Berkeley19955
Gregg SaundersUniversity of California, Berkeley1984
Stephen SchecterUniversity of California, Berkeley19752
Chester SchneiderUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
Siavash ShahshahaniUniversity of California, Berkeley19695
Michael ShubUniversity of California, Berkeley196724
Per TomterUniversity of California, Berkeley19691
Anthony TrombaPrinceton University19687
Yieh-Hei WanUniversity of California, Berkeley19732
Xiaohua XuanUniversity of California, Berkeley1990
Yuan YaoUniversity of California, Berkeley2006

According to our current on-line database, Stephen Smale has 48 students and 800 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 5086 for the advisor ID.