Marshall Harvey Stone

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Harvard University 1926 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Ordinary Linear Homogeneous Differential Equations of Order n and the Related Expansion Problems

Advisor: George David Birkhoff

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Brenner, JoelHarvard University1936
Byrnes, ChristopherUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst1975188
Calkin, JohnHarvard University1937
Eberlein, WilliamHarvard University194248
Finch, JohnThe University of Chicago1951
Gaffney, Jr., MatthewThe University of Chicago1951
Galler, BernardThe University of Chicago195581
Hewitt, EdwinHarvard University1942196
Kadison, RichardThe University of Chicago1950536
Kellogg, R. BruceThe University of Chicago19586
Koranyi, AdamThe University of Chicago19597
Mackey, GeorgeHarvard University19421162
MacNeille, HolbrookHarvard University1935
McKibben, JohnThe University of Chicago1957
Norris, MichaelHarvard University1944
O'Neill, AnneRadcliffe College1942

According to our current on-line database, Marshall Stone has 16 students and 2237 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 4946 for the advisor ID.