David Bernard Shmoys


Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 1984 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Approximation Algorithms for Problems in Sequencing, Scheduling, and Communication Network Design
Mathematics Subject Classification: 68—Computer science

Advisor: Eugene Leighton Lawler

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Klein, PhilipMassachusetts Institute of Technology198827
Hall, LeslieMassachusetts Institute of Technology19891
Wein, JoelMassachusetts Institute of Technology19913
Stein, CliffordMassachusetts Institute of Technology199210
Lourenço, HelenaCornell University19935
Panconesi, AlessandroCornell University19931
Srinivasan, AravindCornell University19935
Martin, PaulCornell University1996
Chudak, FabianCornell University19981
Huber, MarkCornell University19992
Brown, DanielCornell University20003
Edwards, NathanCornell University2001
Swamy, ChaitanyaCornell University20041
Levi, RetsefCornell University200516
Rajagopalan, RanjithCornell University2005
Kunvipusilkul, DavinaCornell University2006
Schalekamp, FransCornell University2006
Carnes, TimothyCornell University2010
An, Hyung-ChanCornell University2012
Cheung, MauriceCornell University2012
Spencer, GwenCornell University2012
O'Mahony, EoinCornell University2015
Fleischman, DanielCornell University2016
Steele, PatrickCornell University2017
Tong, ChaoxuCornell University2017
Alamdari, SoroushCornell University2018
Freund, DanielCornell University2018
Cho, Woo-HyungCornell University2022
Rajakrishnan, ShijinCornell University2022
Aarts, SanderCornell University2023

According to our current on-line database, David Shmoys has 30 students and 105 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 36705 for the advisor ID.