Richard Sheldon Palais


Ph.D. Harvard University 1956 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Global Formulation of the Lie Theory of Transformation Groups
Mathematics Subject Classification: 22—Topological groups, Lie groups

Advisor 1: Andrew Mattei Gleason
Advisor 2: George Whitelaw Mackey

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Robin AultBrandeis University1970
Susanta BasuBrandeis University1992
Edward BierstoneBrandeis University19726
Lance DragerBrandeis University1978
David EckBrandeis University1980
Richard GraffPrinceton University1972
Shu-Jung KaoBrandeis University1991
Ulrich KoschorkeBrandeis University19688
Leslie LamportBrandeis University1972
Shih-Chi LeeBrandeis University1975
Jill MesirovBrandeis University1974
Joonsang ParkBrandeis University1992
John SaberBrandeis University1964
Mark SchmidtBrandeis University1969
Joseph ShipmanBrandeis University1991
T. SubramaniamBrandeis University1984
Wing-Wah SungBrandeis University1990
Chuu-Lian TerngBrandeis University19765
Karen UhlenbeckBrandeis University196840
Ming-Qiang WangBrandeis University1992
Arthur WassermanBrandeis University19656
Bing-Le WuBrandeis University1991

According to our current on-line database, Richard Palais has 22 students and 85 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 35504 for the advisor ID.