Peter David Lax

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1949 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Nonlinear System of Hyperbolic Partial Differential Equations in Two Independent Variables
Mathematics Subject Classification: 35—Partial differential equations

Advisor: Kurt Otto Friedrichs

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Alpern, StevenNew York University19731
Anjilvel, SatishNew York University1984
Beylkin, GregoryNew York University19827
Chen, Gui-QiangChinese Academy of Sciences198750
Chen, Li-an LaurenceNew York University1968
Chen, MinNew York University1996
Chorin, AlexandreNew York University1966368
Ciment, MelvynNew York University1968
Deem, GaryNew York University1969
De Moura, CarlosNew York University197612
Engelberg, ShlomoNew York University1994
Epstein, CharlesNew York University19836
Fattorini, HectorNew York University19652
Foy, LinusNew York University1962
Gerber, PorterNew York University1968
Ghil, MichaelNew York University197589
Goldstein, CharlesNew York University1967
Goodhue, WilliamNew York University19711
Hahn, SusanNew York University1957
Halem, MiltonNew York University19682
Harten, AmiramNew York University1974
Hayes, BrianNew York University1994
Hersh, ReubenNew York University196213
Hyman, JamesNew York University19766
Isaac, DonaldNew York University1970
Jennings, GrayNew York University1971
Joseph, KayyunnaparaNew York University19872
Kalaba, RobertNew York University19581
Kamvissis, SpyridonNew York University19911
Keyfitz, BarbaraNew York University19704
Lapidus, ArnoldNew York University1967
La Vita, JamesNew York University1967
Levermore, CharlesNew York University198276
Logemann, GeorgeNew York University1965
Moeller, JamesNew York University19613
Neustadt, LucienNew York University1960
Noelle, SebastianNew York University199022
Peyser, GideonNew York University1957
Pimbley, GeorgeNew York University1957
Prince, JulianNew York University1967
Quarles, Jr., DonaldNew York University1964
Rauch, JeffreyNew York University197138
Reed, KennardNew York University1963
Rose, MiltonNew York University1953
Rushfield, NormanNew York University1963
Smyrlis, YiorgosNew York University19892
Swartz, BlairNew York University1970
Teytel, MikhailNew York University1996
Tian, FeiranNew York University1991
Treuenfels, PeterNew York University1957
Venakides, StephanosNew York University198211
Walker, HomerNew York University19709
Wendroff, BurtonNew York University1958
Winkler, AndrewNew York University1987
Yang, YahanNew York University1991

According to our current on-line database, Peter Lax has 55 students and 779 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13415 for the advisor ID.