Marvin Lee Minsky


Ph.D. Princeton University 1954 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Theory of Neural-Analog Reinforcement Systems and Its Application to the Brain Model Problem

Advisor: Albert William Tucker

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Paul AbrahamsMassachusetts Institute of Technology1963
Howard AustinMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
Manuel BlumMassachusetts Institute of Technology1964625
Daniel BobrowMassachusetts Institute of Technology1964
Nicholas CassimatisMassachusetts Institute of Technology2002
Eugene CharniakMassachusetts Institute of Technology197223
K. Eric DrexlerMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Thomas EvansMassachusetts Institute of Technology1963
Scott FahlmanMassachusetts Institute of Technology197718
Eugene FreuderMassachusetts Institute of Technology19751
Daniel GruhlMassachusetts Institute of Technology2000
Adolfo Guzman ArenasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Kenneth Haase, Jr.Massachusetts Institute of Technology19902
Michael HawleyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1993
William HillisMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Berthold HornMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970193
Thomas JonesMassachusetts Institute of Technology1971
Lawrence KrakauerMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Benjamin KuipersMassachusetts Institute of Technology197739
Robert LawlerMassachusetts Institute of Technology1979
David LevittMassachusetts Institute of Technology1985
William LimMassachusetts Institute of Technology1989
William MartinMassachusetts Institute of Technology19671
David McDonaldMassachusetts Institute of Technology19804
Joel MosesMassachusetts Institute of Technology196757
Lewis NortonMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Bertram RaphaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1964
David RosenthalMassachusetts Institute of Technology1992
Pushpinder SinghMassachusetts Institute of Technology2005
James SlagleMassachusetts Institute of Technology196121
Stephen SmoliarMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Luc SteelsUniversiteit Antwerpen19776
Steven StrassmannMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Gerald SussmanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973166
Warren TeitelmanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1967
Michael TraversMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
José ValenteMassachusetts Institute of Technology1983
Patrick WinstonMassachusetts Institute of Technology197062

According to our current on-line database, Marvin Minsky has 38 students and 1229 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6869 for the advisor ID.