Gian-Carlo Rota

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Yale University 1956 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Extension Theory of Differential Operators

Advisor: Jacob Theodore (Jack) Schwartz

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Martin BillikMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Alan BlairMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Thomas BrylawskiDartmouth College197028
Wendy ChanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
William ChenMassachusetts Institute of Technology199113
Daniel CohenHarvard University1975
Henry CrapoMassachusetts Institute of Technology19645
Sergio de BragancaMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Alexander DoohovskoyMassachusetts Institute of Technology
Peter DoubiletMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Peter DurenMassachusetts Institute of Technology196029
Richard EhrenborgMassachusetts Institute of Technology19934
Robert FeinbergUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison1974
Stephen FiskHarvard University1972
John FreemanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1963
Stephen GrossbergThe Rockefeller University19673
Mark HaimanMassachusetts Institute of Technology198421
Michael HawrylyczMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Thorkell HelgasonMassachusetts Institute of Technology1971
Kenneth HolladayMassachusetts Institute of Technology1975
Rosa HuangMassachusetts Institute of Technology1990
Daniel KlainMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Joseph KungMassachusetts Institute of Technology19787
Kenneth LangeMassachusetts Institute of Technology197141
Shane LindstromMassachusetts Institute of Technology1990
Daniel LoebMassachusetts Institute of Technology1989
Jozsef LosonczyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Matteo MainettiMassachusetts Institute of Technology1998
Robert McCabeBoston University1971
Nick MetasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Lee MondsheinHarvard University1972
Richard Moroney Jr.Massachusetts Institute of Technology1961
Oscar Nava ZambranoMassachusetts Institute of Technology1986
Hien NguyenMassachusetts Institute of Technology19752
Joseph OliveiraMassachusetts Institute of Technology1993
Patrick O'NeilThe Rockefeller University19691
William SchmittMassachusetts Institute of Technology19863
Domenico SenatoUniversità degli Studi di Napoli Federico II 19882
Richard StanleyHarvard University1971201
Norton StarrMassachusetts Institute of Technology1964
Joel SteinHarvard University1980
Stephen TannyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Brian TaylorMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Erlan Wheeler, IIMassachusetts Institute of Technology1992
Neil WhiteHarvard University19723
Walter WhiteleyMassachusetts Institute of Technology19714
Catherine YanMassachusetts Institute of Technology19974
Julia YangMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Shunhuang ZhuangMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991

According to our current on-line database, Gian-Carlo Rota has 49 students and 419 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 7721 for the advisor ID.