Israel (Yitzchak) Nathan Herstein

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Indiana University 1948 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Divisor Algebras

Advisor: Max August Zorn

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Willard BaxterUniversity of Pennsylvania19562
Allan BereleThe University of Chicago1981
Jeffrey BergenThe University of Chicago1981
Amiram BraunThe University of Chicago19772
Gordon BrownCornell University19632
Miriam CohenTel Aviv University19763
David EhlertThe University of Chicago1968
Daniel FarkasThe University of Chicago19732
Bernardo FelzenszwabThe University of Chicago
Antonio GiambrunoThe University of Chicago197712
Leonid KropThe University of Chicago1983
Charles LanskiThe University of Chicago19692
Richard LarsonThe University of Chicago19653
Pjek-Hwee LeeThe University of Chicago19748
Gail LetzterThe University of Chicago19871
Jer-Shyong LinThe University of Chicago1981
David LissnerCornell University195916
Wallace Martindale, IIIUniversity of Pennsylvania195810
M. Susan MontgomeryThe University of Chicago196913
Linda NeumannWeizmann Institute of Science1979
Karen ParshallThe University of Chicago19825
Nicholas PassellThe University of Chicago1969
Claudio ProcesiThe University of Chicago19666
Murray SchacherThe University of Chicago196710
Michael SlaterThe University of Chicago1965
Lance SmallThe University of Chicago196522
Lynne SmallYale University1967
Martha SmithThe University of Chicago19702
Cleon Yohe, Jr.The University of Chicago19662

According to our current on-line database, Israel (Yitzchak) Herstein has 29 students and 152 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6526 for the advisor ID.