Edward James McShane

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1930 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Semi-Continuity in the Calculus of Variations, and Absolute Minima for Isoperimetric Problems
Mathematics Subject Classification: 49—Calculus of variations and optimal control

Advisor 1: Gilbert Ames Bliss
Advisor 2: Lawrence Murray Graves

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Coleman, SamuelUniversity of Virginia19603
Klee, VictorUniversity of Virginia1949287
Krall, AllanUniversity of Virginia196317
Lawrence, SidneyUniversity of Virginia1964
Lowdenslager, DavidUniversity of Virginia1956
Pettis, BillyUniversity of Virginia1937231
Rice, BarbaraUniversity of Virginia1965
Ritter, EugeneUniversity of Virginia1949
Schwarzkopf, AlbertUniversity of Virginia19681

According to our current on-line database, Edward McShane has 9 students and 548 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6151 for the advisor ID.