Paul Ehrenfest


Ph.D. Universität Wien 1904 Austria
Dissertation: Die Bewegung starrer Körper in Flüssigkeiten und die Mechanik von Hertz [English: The Motion of Rigid Bodies in Fluids and the Mechanics of Hertz]
Mathematics Subject Classification: 70—Mechanics of particles and systems

Advisor: Ludwig Boltzmann

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Johannes BurgersUniversiteit Leiden1918236
Hendrik CasimirUniversiteit Leiden193134
Dirk CosterUniversiteit Leiden192226
Henri FlorinUniversiteit Leiden1934
Samuel GoudsmitUniversiteit Leiden19274
Hendrik KramersUniversiteit Leiden1919486
Roelf KransUniversiteit Leiden1931
Arend RutgersUniversiteit Leiden1930
Jan TinbergenUniversiteit Leiden1929332
Jan TreslingUniversiteit Leiden1919
George UhlenbeckUniversiteit Leiden1927140

According to our current on-line database, Paul Ehrenfest has 11 students and 957 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 19433 for the advisor ID.