George William Whitehead, Jr.

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1941 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Homotopy Properties of the Real Orthogonal Groups

Advisor: Norman Earl Steenrod

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Robert (Yisrael) AumannMassachusetts Institute of Technology1955151
Edgar Brown, Jr.Massachusetts Institute of Technology1954134
Joel CohenMassachusetts Institute of Technology19662
Arthur Copeland, Jr.Massachusetts Institute of Technology19544
Michael GinsburgMassachusetts Institute of Technology1961
Alan GoldsteinMassachusetts Institute of Technology1955
Daniel KahnMassachusetts Institute of Technology19642
John Kimber, Jr.Massachusetts Institute of Technology1958
Jacques LabelleMassachusetts Institute of Technology19752
John MooreBrown University1952955
Robert MosherMassachusetts Institute of Technology1962
Leonard NissimMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
Peter WelcherMassachusetts Institute of Technology1978

According to our current on-line database, George Whitehead, Jr. has 13 students and 1261 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6374 for the advisor ID.