George Daniel Mostow


Ph.D. Harvard University 1948 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Extensibility of Local Lie Groups of Transformations and Groups on Surfaces
Mathematics Subject Classification: 22—Topological groups, Lie groups

Advisor: Garrett Birkhoff

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Andre, PeterYale University1970
Brown, IanYale University1970
Currier, A. (Albert) W. (William)The Johns Hopkins University1968
Giarrusso, DanteYale University1979
Hyman, HarveyYale University1966
Richardson, LeonardYale University19707
Sauter, Jr., JohnYale University1988
Stuelpnagel, JohnThe Johns Hopkins University1962
Torop, RobertYale University1985
Xue, XiaoxiYale University1989

According to our current on-line database, George Mostow has 10 students and 17 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 28467 for the advisor ID.