Edward Mills Purcell

Ph.D. Harvard University 1938 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Focusing of Charges Particles by a Spherical Condenser.
Mathematics Subject Classification: 82—Statistical mechanics, structure of matter

Advisor: Kenneth Tompkins Bainbridge

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Benedek, GeorgeHarvard University19542
Bloembergen, NicolaasUniversiteit Leiden19487
Papagiannis, MichaelHarvard University19645
Slichter, CharlesHarvard University194919
Smith, James HammondHarvard University1952

According to our current on-line database, Edward Purcell has 5 students and 38 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 14187 for the advisor ID.