James Kenyon Knowles


Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1957 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Thin Elastic Helicoidal Shells
Mathematics Subject Classification: 74—Mechanics of deformable solids

Advisor: M. Eric (Max) Reissner

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Abeyaratne, RohanCalifornia Institute of Technology19795
Connolly, JeremiahCalifornia Institute of Technology1983
Everett, WilliamCalifornia Institute of Technology1971
Fletcher, DonnieCalifornia Institute of Technology1974
Fowler, GraemeCalifornia Institute of Technology1981
Fried, EliotCalifornia Institute of Technology19911
Horgan, CorneliusCalifornia Institute of Technology19708
Jeffers, RobertCalifornia Institute of Technology1971
Jiang, QingCalifornia Institute of Technology1990
Lusk, MarkCalifornia Institute of Technology19921
Mortell, MichaelCalifornia Institute of Technology19685
O'Sullivan, TimothyCalifornia Institute of Technology1982
Pence, ThomasCalifornia Institute of Technology198318
Restuccio, JimCalifornia Institute of Technology1992
Rosakis, PhoebusCalifornia Institute of Technology19896
Silling, StewartCalifornia Institute of Technology1986
Stephenson, RodneyCalifornia Institute of Technology1980
Turteltaub, SergioCalifornia Institute of Technology1996
Wakugawa, JasonCalifornia Institute of Technology1985
Wang, Neng-MingCalifornia Institute of Technology1962
Winfree, NancyCalifornia Institute of Technology1999
Zhong, XiaoguangCalifornia Institute of Technology1995

According to our current on-line database, James Knowles has 22 students and 66 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13014 for the advisor ID.