William Schumacher Massey


Ph.D. Princeton University 1949 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Classification of Mappings of an (N+1)-Dimensional Space into an N-Sphere
Mathematics Subject Classification: 01—History and biography

Advisor: Norman Earl Steenrod

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Frank PalermoBrown University1955
Donald MalmBrown University1959
Albert LundellBrown University19601
Donald KahnYale University19618
Robert GreenblattYale University1963
Michael McCordYale University19631
Howard RobertsBrown University1963
Tsau-Young MouraYale University1966
Larry SmithYale University196631
Martin GoldmanYale University1967
Benjamin CooperYale University1971
Richard PorterYale University1971
James WhiteYale University1972
David BausumYale University1974
Charles EhrenpreisYale University1976
Edward O'NeillYale University1976
Alvin MartinYale University1977
Kon-Ying LeeMcGill University1978
Lorenzo TraldiYale University1980
James FifeYale University1982
Jeffrey ClarkYale University1987
Sabatino Costanzo-AlvarezYale University1990

According to our current on-line database, William Massey has 23 students and 64 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 8594 for the advisor ID.