Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of Cambridge 1933 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: Polytropic distributions
Mathematics Subject Classification: 85—Astronomy and astrophysics

Advisor 1: Ralph Howard Fowler
Advisor 2: Arthur Stanley Eddington

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Nutku, YavuzThe University of Chicago2
Muench-Paniagua, GuidoThe University of Chicago194639
Tuberg, MerleThe University of Chicago1946
Underhill, AnneThe University of Chicago194842
Code, ArthurThe University of Chicago195016
Osterbrock, DonaldThe University of Chicago19528
Helfer, H. LawrenceThe University of Chicago19531
Jensen, EberhartThe University of Chicago1953
Kulsrud, RussellThe University of Chicago195453
Trehan, Surindar KumarThe University of Chicago195813
Lebovitz, NormanThe University of Chicago196122
Sobuti, YousefThe University of Chicago1963
Ostriker, JeremiahThe University of Chicago196492
Aizenman, MorrisThe University of Chicago1968
Friedman, JohnThe University of Chicago197315
Miller, JohnUniversity of Oxford19749
Detweiler, StevenThe University of Chicago19756

According to our current on-line database, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar has 17 students and 319 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 70801 for the advisor ID.