Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of Cambridge 1933 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: Polytropic distributions
Mathematics Subject Classification: 85—Astronomy and astrophysics

Advisor 1: Ralph Howard Fowler
Advisor 2: Arthur Stanley Eddington

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Code, ArthurThe University of Chicago195016
Detweiler, StevenThe University of Chicago19755
Friedman, JohnThe University of Chicago19738
Jensen, EberhartThe University of Chicago1953
Kulsrud, RussellThe University of Chicago195453
Lebovitz, NormanThe University of Chicago196122
Miller, JohnUniversity of Oxford19749
Muench-Paniagua, GuidoThe University of Chicago194638
Nutku, YavuzThe University of Chicago2
Osterbrock, DonaldThe University of Chicago19528
Ostriker, JeremiahThe University of Chicago196492
Sobuti, YousefThe University of Chicago1963
Trehan, Surindar KumarThe University of Chicago195813
Tuberg, MerleThe University of Chicago1946
Underhill, AnneThe University of Chicago194842

According to our current on-line database, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar has 15 students and 308 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 70801 for the advisor ID.