John Griggs Thompson

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1959 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Proof that a Finite Group with a Fixed-Point-Free Automorphism of Prime Order is Nilpotent

Advisor: Saunders Mac Lane

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Shaw, DavidUniversity of Cambridge
Sims, CharlesHarvard University196313
Spitznagel, EdwardThe University of Chicago19652
Dornhoff, LarryThe University of Chicago19661
Rust, MilbernThe University of Chicago1966
Whitcomb, AlbertThe University of Chicago1968
Broshi, AviadThe University of Chicago1969
Cooney, Sister MiriamThe University of Chicago1969
Ferguson, PamelaThe University of Chicago19691
Goldschmidt, DavidThe University of Chicago196915
MacWilliams, AnneThe University of Chicago1969
Sandling, RobertThe University of Chicago19697
Lyons, RichardThe University of Chicago197028
Griess, Jr., RobertThe University of Chicago19717
Ho, Chat-YinThe University of Chicago19726
James, GordonUniversity of Cambridge197211
Patterson, NicholasUniversity of Cambridge1973
Erbach, DavidUniversity of Cambridge1976
Foote, RichardUniversity of Cambridge19764
Benson, DavidUniversity of Cambridge198120
Jackson, DavidUniversity of Cambridge1982
Ray, UrmieUniversity of Cambridge1990
McNeilly, DavidUniversity of Cambridge1996
Bereczky, AronUniversity of Florida1998
Shaska, TanushUniversity of Florida20013

According to our current on-line database, John Thompson has 25 students and 143 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6488 for the advisor ID.