Stephen Smale

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of Michigan 1957 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Regular Curves on Riemannian Manifolds

Advisor: Raoul H. Bott

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Hirsch, MorrisThe University of Chicago1958369
Kopell, NancyUniversity of California, Berkeley196710
Shub, MichaelUniversity of California, Berkeley196733
Franks, JohnUniversity of California, Berkeley196834
Palis, Jr., JacobUniversity of California, Berkeley1968316
Tromba, AnthonyPrinceton University19686
Byers, WilliamUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
Dowling, JamesUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
Newhouse, SheldonUniversity of California, Berkeley196920
Nitecki, ZbigniewUniversity of California, Berkeley19693
Schneider, ChesterUniversity of California, Berkeley1969
Shahshahani, SiavashUniversity of California, Berkeley19695
Tomter, PerUniversity of California, Berkeley19691
Bowen, Robert (Rufus)University of California, Berkeley197027
Guckenheimer, JohnUniversity of California, Berkeley197034
Camacho Manco, CésarUniversity of California, Berkeley197150
Cabral, HildebertoUniversity of California, Berkeley197215
Lacomba-Zamora, ErnestoUniversity of California, Berkeley197221
Devaney, RobertUniversity of California, Berkeley197324
Ong, ChongUniversity of California, Berkeley1973
Palmore, III, JulianUniversity of California, Berkeley197312
Payne, MichaelUniversity of California, Berkeley1973
Wan, Yieh-HeiUniversity of California, Berkeley19732
Lopez-Yanez, AlejandroUniversity of California, Berkeley1974
Schecter, StephenUniversity of California, Berkeley19752
Fried, DavidUniversity of California, Berkeley197618
Rassias, ThemistoclesUniversity of California, Berkeley19761
Friedman, DanielUniversity of California, Santa Cruz19774
Rassias, GeorgeUniversity of California, Berkeley1977
Jewell, AngelynUniversity of California, Berkeley1979
Langlois, Jean-PierreUniversity of California, Berkeley1982
Renegar, Jr., JamesUniversity of California, Berkeley19839
Saunders, GreggUniversity of California, Berkeley1984
Buffo, AlbertoUniversity of California, Berkeley1985
Kostlan, EricUniversity of California, Berkeley1985
Friedman, JoelUniversity of California, Berkeley19871
Gao, FengUniversity of California, Berkeley1988
Hirsch, MichaelUniversity of California, Berkeley1990
Xuan, XiaohuaUniversity of California, Berkeley1990
Bishop, EdwardUniversity of California, Berkeley1991
Priest, DouglasUniversity of California, Berkeley1992
Huang, YiUniversity of California, Berkeley1993
Malajovich Munoz, GregorioUniversity of California, Berkeley1994
Rojas, Joseph MauriceUniversity of California, Berkeley19956
Kwong, Chung PingCity University of Hong Kong19992
Ha Quang, MinhBrown University2006
Minh, HaBrown University2006
Yao, YuanUniversity of California, Berkeley20067

According to our current on-line database, Stephen Smale has 48 students and 1077 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 5086 for the advisor ID.