Geoffrey Everest Hinton


Ph.D. University of Edinburgh 1978 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: Relaxation and its Role in Vision

Advisor: Hugh Christopher Longuet-Higgins

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Ackley, DavidCarnegie Mellon University1987
Brown, PeterCarnegie Mellon University1987
Derthick, MarkCarnegie Mellon University1988
Lang, KevinCarnegie Mellon University1989
Nowlan, StevenCarnegie Mellon University1991
Plaut, DavidCarnegie Mellon University1991
Fels, SidneyUniversity of Toronto1994
Williams, ChristopherUniversity of Toronto1994
Zemel, RichardUniversity of Toronto19941
Neal, RadfordUniversity of Toronto19956
Rasmussen, CarlUniversity of Toronto19965
Frey, BrendanUniversity of Toronto19975
Steeg, EvanUniversity of Toronto1997
Grzeszczuk, RadekUniversity of Toronto1998
Sallans, BrianUniversity of Toronto2001
Brown, AndrewUniversity of Toronto2002
Oore, SageevUniversity of Toronto2002
Paccanaro, AlbertoUniversity of Toronto20024
Teh, Yee WhyeUniversity of Toronto20033
Thiessen, NinaUniversity of Toronto2004
Mnih, AndriyUniversity of Toronto2010
Salakhutdinov, RuslanUniversity of Toronto20101
Mnih, VolodymyrUniversity of Toronto2013
Sutskever, IlyaUniversity of Toronto2013
Jaitly, NavdeepUniversity of Toronto2014
Mohamed, Abdel-rahmanUniversity of Toronto2014
Tieleman, TijmenUniversity of Toronto2014
Dahl, GeorgeUniversity of Toronto2015
Tang, YichuanUniversity of Toronto2015
Martens, JamesUniversity of Toronto2016
Srivastava, NitishUniversity of Toronto2017

According to our current on-line database, Geoffrey Hinton has 31 students and 54 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 50071 for the advisor ID.