Richard Peirce Brent


Ph.D. Stanford University 1971 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Algorithms for Finding Zeros and Extrema of Functions without Calculating Derivatives

Advisor 1: Gene Howard Golub
Advisor 2: George Elmer Forsythe

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Abbott, JamesAustralian National University1977
Abu Salem, FatimaUniversity of Oxford2004
Arndt, JörgAustralian National University2010
Aycock, ChristopherUniversity of Oxford2013
Bai, ShiAustralian National University20122
Bing Bing, ZhouAustralian National University1989
Fletcher, PeterAustralian National University1993
Griewank, AndreasAustralian National University198065
Lui, YuanUniversity of Oxford2008
Ma, WanliAustralian National University2001
Mackerras, PaulAustralian National University1988
Moore, KevinAustralian National University1997
Murphy, BrianAustralian National University1999
Murshed, M.Australian National University1999
Percival, ColinUniversity of Oxford2006
Robertson, PhilipAustralian National University1985
Sachse-Akerlind, DaryelAustralian National University1983
Skerritt, MatthewUniversity of Newcastle2020
Strazdins, PeterAustralian National University1990
Subramanya Rao, SrinivasaAustralian National University2017
Tridgell, AndrewAustralian National University1999

According to our current on-line database, Richard Brent has 21 students and 88 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 46405 for the advisor ID.