Claude Elwood Shannon

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1940 UnitedStates
Dissertation: An Algebra for Theoretical Genetics

Advisor: Frank Lauren Hitchcock

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Ernst, HeinrichMassachusetts Institute of Technology1962
Hillis, WilliamMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Sutherland, IvanMassachusetts Institute of Technology19634
Sutherland, WilliamMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966

According to our current on-line database, Claude Shannon has 4 students and 8 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 42920 for the advisor ID.