Joan Sylvia Lyttle Birman

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1968 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Braid Groups and Their Relationship to Mapping Class Groups

Advisor: Wilhelm Magnus

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Tara BrendleColumbia University20023
Nathan BroaddusColumbia University2003
Zhonghe ChenColumbia University1994
Richard FeinStevens Institute of Technology1974
Elizabeth FinkelsteinColumbia University1993
Tat Sang FungColumbia University1996
Matthew GreenwoodColumbia University1996
Hessam Hamidi-TehraniColumbia University1997
Efstratia KalfagianniColumbia University19955
Keiko KawamuroColumbia University2006
Marcello KupferwasserColumbia University1976
John McCarthyColumbia University19832
Ka-Yi NgColumbia University1996
Clement PopescuColumbia University2001
Jerome PowellColumbia University1977
Jozef PrzytyckiColumbia University198112
Theodore StanfordColumbia University19932
Rolland TrappColumbia University1990
Nancy WrinkleColumbia University2002
Peijun XuColumbia University1990
Matthew ZinnoColumbia University2001

According to our current on-line database, Joan Birman has 21 students and 45 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 24360 for the advisor ID.