Gerald Jay Sussman


Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1973 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Computational Model of Skill Acquisition
Mathematics Subject Classification: 68—Computer science

Advisor 1: Seymour Aubrey Papert
Advisor 2: Marvin Lee Minsky

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Brown, AllenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
McDermott, DrewMassachusetts Institute of Technology197688
Fahlman, ScottMassachusetts Institute of Technology197720
Shrobe, HowardMassachusetts Institute of Technology19784
Waters, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology19781
de Kleer, JohanMassachusetts Institute of Technology19791
Moore, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology19791
Brown, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology1980
Doyle, JonMassachusetts Institute of Technology19805
Steele, Jr., GuyMassachusetts Institute of Technology19809
Hillis, WilliamMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Rich, CharlesMassachusetts Institute of Technology19812
Knight, Jr., ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology198315
Forbus, KennethMassachusetts Institute of Technology198445
Ressler, AndrewMassachusetts Institute of Technology1984
Weise, DanielMassachusetts Institute of Technology19862
McAllester, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology19871
Sacks, ElishaMassachusetts Institute of Technology19881
Yip, KennethMassachusetts Institute of Technology1989
Roylance, GeraldMassachusetts Institute of Technology1990
Batali, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Bawden, AlanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1992
Bradley, ElizabethMassachusetts Institute of Technology19928
Zhao, FengMassachusetts Institute of Technology1992
Rozas, GuillermoMassachusetts Institute of Technology1993
Berlin, AndrewMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Turbak, FranklynMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Rees, JonathanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Skordos, PanayotisMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
LaMacchia, BrianMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Siapas, AthanassiosMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Coore, DanielMassachusetts Institute of Technology1999
Surati, RajeevMassachusetts Institute of Technology1999
Nagpal, RadhikaMassachusetts Institute of Technology2001
Weiss, RonMassachusetts Institute of Technology2001
Rauch, ErikMassachusetts Institute of Technology2004
Kondacs, AttilaMassachusetts Institute of Technology2005
Hearn, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology2006
Beal, JacobMassachusetts Institute of Technology2007
Mitros, PiotrMassachusetts Institute of Technology2007
Radul, AlexeyMassachusetts Institute of Technology2010
Gilpin, LeilaniMassachusetts Institute of Technology2020
Specter, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology2021

According to our current on-line database, Gerald Sussman has 43 students and 243 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 20655 for the advisor ID.