Philip Hall

Biography MathSciNet

M.A. University of Cambridge 1926 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: The Isomorphisms of Abelian Groups (Hall never actually met Burnside but was greatly influenced by Burnside's Writings, see McTutuor, hbc)

Advisor: Karl Pearson

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Anson, J.University of Cambridge
Coppel, WilliamUniversity of Cambridge9
Harris, D.University of Cambridge
Kulatilaka, C.University of Cambridge
Rae, A.University of Cambridge
Rees, DavidUniversity of Cambridge99
Rhemtulla, AkbarUniversity of Cambridge6
Stroud, P.University of Cambridge
Thurston, H.University of Cambridge
Birkhoff, GarrettHarvard University19321134
Neumann, BernhardUniversity of Cambridge1935350
Hirsch, KurtUniversity of Cambridge1937148
Easterfield, ThomasUniversity of Cambridge1940
Goldie, AlfredUniversity of Cambridge1946297
Taunt, DerekUniversity of Cambridge1948181
Green, JamesUniversity of Cambridge195189
Cohn, PaulUniversity of Cambridge195271
Hale, V.University of Cambridge1952
Hughes, N.University of Cambridge1952
Gruenberg, KarlUniversity of Cambridge195436
Higgins, PhilipUniversity of Cambridge195419
Weir, A.University of Cambridge1954
McLain, DermotUniversity of Cambridge1956
Blackburn, NormanUniversity of Cambridge195727
Duguid, A.University of Cambridge1958
Findlay, G.University of Cambridge1958
Rigby, J.University of Cambridge1958
Armstrong, R.University of Cambridge1959
Evans, TrevorUniversity of Oxford196042
Learner, ArnoldUniversity of Cambridge1961
Robinson, DerekUniversity of Cambridge196317
Roseblade, JamesUniversity of Cambridge196349
Hartley, BrianUniversity of Cambridge1964108
Stonehewer, StewartUniversity of Cambridge196481

According to our current on-line database, Philip Hall has 34 students and 2703 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 18253 for the advisor ID.