William Paul Thurston

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 1972 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Foliations of Three-Manifolds which are Circle Bundles
Mathematics Subject Classification: 51—Geometry

Advisor: Morris William Hirsch

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Rasmussen, OlePrinceton University1976
Floyd, WilliamPrinceton University19784
Hardorp, DetlefPrinceton University1978
Kerckhoff, StevenPrinceton University197830
Ling, WensorPrinceton University1979
Gabai, DavidPrinceton University198025
Goldman, WilliamUniversity of California, Berkeley198038
Dunbar, WilliamPrinceton University1981
Erlandsson, ThomasUppsala Universitet1981
Meyerhoff, G.Princeton University1981
Grayson, MattPrinceton University1983
Mosher, LeePrinceton University19835
Kuhn, NathanielPrinceton University1984
Levy, SilvioPrinceton University1985
Weeks, JeffreyPrinceton University1985
G, Ravi (Ravinder)University of California, Berkeley1986
Hodgson, CraigPrinceton University19869
Rivin, IgorPrinceton University19862
Choi, SuhyoungPrinceton University19882
Canary, RichardPrinceton University198911
Fenley, SérgioPrinceton University19892
Hu, SenPrinceton University19891
Minsky, YairPrinceton University198914
Saldanha, NicolauPrinceton University19895
Kenyon, RichardPrinceton University19909
Schramm, OdedPrinceton University19904
Schwartz, RichardPrinceton University19914
Bridgeman, MartinPrinceton University19943
Farb, BensonPrinceton University199446
Liu, Chien-HaoPrinceton University1994
Calegari, DannyUniversity of California, Berkeley200010
Ballinger, BradleyUniversity of California, Davis2003
Walsh, GenevieveUniversity of California, Davis20033
Jerdonek, ChristopherUniversity of California, Davis2005
Wang, BiaoCornell University2009
Baik, HyungryulCornell University2014

According to our current on-line database, William Thurston has 36 students and 262 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 11749 for the advisor ID.