Lyman Spitzer, Jr.

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Princeton University 1938 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Spectra of Late Supergiant Stars
Mathematics Subject Classification: 85—Astronomy and astrophysics

Advisor: Henry Norris Russell

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Cohn, HaldanPrinceton University1979
Elmegreen, BrucePrinceton University1975
Field, GeorgePrinceton University195528
Gaustad, JohnPrinceton University1962
Gott, JohnPrinceton University19731
Montgomery, DavidPrinceton University195926
Sanders, RobertPrinceton University19706
Savedoff, MalcolmPrinceton University19511
Searle, Leonard ThomasPrinceton University19564
Shull, MichaelPrinceton University1976

According to our current on-line database, Lyman Spitzer, Jr. has 10 students and 76 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 114633 for the advisor ID.