George David Birkhoff

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1907 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Asymptotic Properties of Certain Ordinary Differential Equations with Applications to Boundary Value and Expansion Problems

Advisor: E. H. (Eliakim Hastings) Moore

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Clarence AdamsHarvard University1922374
Jeanne Agnew (LeCaine)Radcliffe College19417
Paul BatchelderHarvard University1916
Herman BetzYale University1924
David BourginHarvard University19261360
Raymond BrinkHarvard University1916
Heinrich BrinkmannHarvard University19258
Robert CarmichaelPrinceton University19111138
Richard ClippingerHarvard University1940
Carl CoeHarvard University1929
Frances (Thorndike) CopeRadcliffe College1932
Hyman EttlingerHarvard University1920438
Alan GalbraithHarvard University1937
Carl GarabedianHarvard University1923
Fausto GravalosHarvard University1941
Paul GuentherHarvard University19411
Arnold HestenesHarvard University1940
John HinrichsenHarvard University19293
Julian HolleyHarvard University1924
Bernard KoopmanHarvard University1926315
Otis LancasterHarvard University1937
Rudolph LangerHarvard University1922312
Daniel Lewis, Jr.Harvard University19325
Ben LinfieldHarvard University19231
Chin-Nien LiuHarvard University1930
Norman MillerHarvard University1916
Charles Morrey, Jr.Harvard University193126
H. C. Marston MorseHarvard University1917783
Forrest MurrayHarvard University1923
Robert O'ConnorHarvard University1941
Eleanor PairmanRadcliffe College1922
Griffith PriceHarvard University193221
Clarence Reynolds, Jr.Harvard University1919
Rainard RobbinsHarvard University1914
Isador ShefferHarvard University19272
Joseph SlepianHarvard University1913
Turner SmithHarvard University1931
Frederick SteenHarvard University1934
Marshall StoneHarvard University19261574
Robert StreetHarvard University1938
Joseph WalshHarvard University19201735
Lewis WardHarvard University19251
Hassler WhitneyHarvard University19321098
David WidderHarvard University1924395
Kenneth WilliamsPrinceton University1913
Levi WilsonHarvard University1915

According to our current on-line database, George Birkhoff has 46 students and 8187 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 5879 for the advisor ID.